the forums at degreez.net

It is currently Mon Mar 18, 2024 10:05 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 2 posts ] 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:40 am 

I am new at this and have a few questions. First, how is the bit torrent protocol different from emule? I have used emule for about 5 years to get music, movies, software, books, etc, and it is very easy to use. I have heard about bit torrent for many years but until today, have not been able to figure out how to use it. This changed when I wanted to get TV show "Mister Roger's Neighborhood". It couldn't be found anywhere on emule. I went to some other websites and found Mister Roger's Neighborhood, but it was just a tiny pointer file, and not the real video. Looking further, (to make use of this pointer file) I seem to need to download some kind of bit torrent software. That was not clear to me what that was. Was that a generic term to describe a category of software, or an exact name of software? Unfortunately, where I am, the term "torrent" is censored, so I couldn't get a lot of info on the topic or download any software with the name "torrent" as part of the name. I finally downloaded and installed the software called "Bit Tornado" and this software seemed to be compatible with the pointer file. I was able to get "Mister Roger's Neighborhood" to start downloading. I do have another question. As a test, I downloaded a music file. After it finished downloading, I tested it by playing it- no problem. My question is, if I want to share that music file with others, is it necessary to keep the download box (the box that says "download succeeded") open? In other words, if I close that download box, does the sharing stop? I want to share my downloaded files, but I don't like to have all these icons (corresponding to each downloaded file) on the taskbar.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Aug 04, 2008 9:14 am