the forums at degreez.net

It is currently Mon Jun 18, 2018 1:16 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]




Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 139 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:33 am 
Hmm... if there really isn't spyware in BitTornado then perhaps I got it when I uninstalled ABC? because I switched from ABC to BitTornado and I didnt install or uninstall anything else at that moment


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 15, 2004 8:35 am
Posts: 418
Are you sure you aren't getting spyware by simply using a vulnerable web browser and just visiting the wrong sites or something?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: no adware here
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 10:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2004 9:46 pm
Posts: 2
I didnt get any spyware or adware when I installed bittornado. I use mozilla firefox as my browser and panda platimun interent security 8.02 with spyware and adware protection so it would have alerted me that it was present when I ran it.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 02, 2004 5:13 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Mar 16, 2004 4:01 pm
Posts: 14
Location: Toronto
There is absolutely no spyware or adware in Bit Tornado. I use Windows XP SP2, Internet Explorer and Mozilla Firefox. Pestpatrol corporate has never alerted me of finding any when installing BitTornado.

I have my MCSE, I know it doesn't mean much.. but I know a lot about Windows and have yet to see any come from Shad0w.

When sp2 of windows xp comes out you will be able to prevent such automatic installs into your computer from the 'bad websites' you guys seem to be going to.

Either get a girlfriend or wait for sp2 to come out to prevent you newbs from screwing up your systems. Another alternative would be to use a non-os browser such as firefox or opera.

Stop flaming because you want to push lesser clients.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 06, 2004 3:03 am 
Hi, first time poster and visitor here.

I saw this topic after installing 0.1.3, freaked out, and immediately ran a Spybot scan.

No resulsts. Therefore, Bittornado has no spyware or adware or anything of the sort.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: spyware
PostPosted: Wed Apr 07, 2004 1:30 am 
I use bittornado 0.1.4. now and have after installing scanned my computer with spybot, adaware and spysweeper, all of them with updated engines and 'they found nothing about bittornado.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 11, 2004 8:57 am 
Summed up in 3 letters: F U D


Top
  
 
PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2004 2:42 am 
Can anyone tell me what is the differences between Experimental and Tornado? I could not find any article listing their differences.

Thanks for reading.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 11:25 am 
Try installing Bulletproofsofts Spyware/Adware remover. I find it catches more stuff than Ad aware.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 11:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 07, 2004 10:05 am
Posts: 1212
I personally prefer Spybot Search & Destroy (http://security.kolla.de) (beware of people misusing their name and supplying spyware-ridden crap instead). In combination with AVG, you're pretty well protected.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 2:35 pm 
I've swapped back and forth between the old S release and the newer BitTornado releases a lot, and there's absolutely no indication of any spyware being installed. Hell, if you watch the installer it even tells you the names of the files being copied. :p


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 9:57 pm 
The linux version seems clean.


Top
  
 
 Post subject: Ummmm, wrong
PostPosted: Tue Apr 27, 2004 8:30 am 
Tiraknor, sorry to say dude.... But you're an idiot.

No spyware to be found anywhere.


Top
  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 28, 2004 2:34 pm 
I wouldn't go so far as to call him an idiot, I just upgraded to v2.0 and found nothing, and I use SpyBot & AdAware. Can't you trace the source on your H/D for these Spyware, then eliminate the proper file?


Top
  
 
 Post subject: eep
PostPosted: Thu Apr 29, 2004 11:07 am 
I had this problem as well, i didnt know where it came from, i realized this 180 ad program installed some other programs as well, most likely a spyware, got spybot updated and it was gone..


Top
  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 139 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 10  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group